Our leadership team oversees the ground breaking research, residency programs and world renowned patient care in the Department of Radiation Oncology.

Walter J. Curran, Jr., MD, FACR
Chair and Executive Director, Winship Cancer Institute

Dr. Curran

Dr. Curran is an international expert in advanced lung cancer and malignant brain tumors. He has served as chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology, as well as executive director of the Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University, since 2009. Dr. Curran is also the group chairman and principal investigator of NRG Oncology, formerly the Radiation Therapy Oncology Group, a National Cancer Institute-funded cooperative group dedicated to advancing patient treatment and care through clinical trials and research. He is a top funded principal investigator for cancer research.

Kelli Gress
Administrator, Clinical Operations


Tian Liu, PhD, DABR
Director, Division of Medical Physics


David S. Yu, MD, PhD
Director, Division of Cancer Biology


Pretesh Patel, MD
Director, Physician Residency Program


Xiaofeng Yang, PhD
Director, Medical Physicist Residency Program


Karen Godette, MD
Medical Director, Radiation Oncology
Emory University Hospital Midtown


Kristin Higgins, MD
Medical Director, Radiation Oncology
Emory University Hospital


Shannon Kahn, MD
Medical Director, Radiation Oncology
Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital


Mark McDonald, MD
Medical Director, Emory Proton Therapy Center


Jay Shelton, MD
Medical Director, Radiation Oncology
Georgia Cancer Center for Excellence at Grady